Skip to main content

Davis Journal

Farmington drill best in 6A

Feb 08, 2024 02:44PM ● By Catherine Garrett

For the past two seasons, the Farmington High Nixelles have been dreaming of winning the 6A state drill team title, taking second both times after moving up from the 5A ranks where they won back-to-back titles in 2020 and 2021. This time around, they left no doubt as to who was the best as the Nixelles swept all categories in Military, Dance and Show to take the overall crown Feb. 2 at Utah Valley University and dethroned four-time defending champion Bingham.

“Winning state was nothing short of exhilarating!” said head coach Shalise Larsen. “We knew the talent in this division was extremely high. Every drill team puts in so much time and work, so to be crowned as state champions feels like such a blessing. The talent in the state of Utah is really unreal.”

Team President Abby Lloyd said, “I was absolutely honored to lead this team and these girls. 

We had many injuries and adversity but we were able to overcome it all and our relationships grew deeper and stronger. Our coaches were a vital part of our success. They give up so much within their personal lives and put their heart and souls into us girls! We’re all so grateful for them and wouldn’t be where we are without them. We also couldn’t have done it without our community. Our parents, peers and alumni always showed up for us and made all of this possible.”

Fellow senior Brynlee Sanders said, “Out of all four years on the team, this year felt different. 

We were all so determined and willing to work hard for each other and I think it really paid off for us! We had an amazing bond as a team this year that made a huge difference in the sense of working together and trusting each other on the competition floor. We also have an amazing admin at our school who support us and coaches who have prepared us mentally and physically. I am so grateful for the opportunity to be on the drill team at Farmington High School. It teaches you so many life lessons like hard work, commitment and determination. I think all these things played a big part in our state win this weekend.”

“Our alumni, friends, family, administration and student body were incredible,” Coach Larsen said. “We felt so much love and support from them and also from all the other drill teams. Feeling so much support was definitely the highlight of our state finals experience, and one we will never forget! The outpouring since we won has been amazing.”

Also on the 2023-24 Nixelles – who also swept all three categories at the Region 1 championship last month – are Ava Barkdull, Preslle Blaser, Ireland Brown, Maylee Carter, Avery Chandler, Zaida Christensen, McKinley Daly, Ella Edmunds, Maren Glassey, Kierra Grant, Lilly Goff, Ava Hammond, Hailey Harrison, Kenya Holbrook, Riley Jensen, Addison Landon, Ava Larsen, Chanel Lee, Ciara Montoya, Sydney Nash, Kiley Nixon, Alexus Oladi, Kayen Phelps. Greta Poulson, Lexey Rigby, Rayden Robison, Clara Short, Hali Stromberg, Reagan Tracy and Samantha Yeates. 

Larsen was assisted on the coaching staff by Allie Short, Marci Hartvigsen and Sue Bagley.

“Every single one of our girls pushed to limits they didn’t think were possible and we were constantly encouraging and lifting each other up on and off the floor,” Lloyd said. “This team is something special. We’re more than a team. We really are a family. Nixelle National Forever!”

The Davis High D’Ettes placed fourth at the 6A state championships Feb. 2 at Utah Valley University, taking third in Military, fourth in Dance and fifth in Show. (Photos courtesy Kira Mortenson)


The Davis High D’Ettes placed fourth overall at the 6A state championships, finishing third in Military, fourth in Dance and fifth in Show. They were also honored with the 6A Sportsmanship Team of the Year award.

Senior captain Kambrie Mustain, co-captains Zoe Bingham and Aubrey Rowe, President Emma Gardiner, Vice President Taisa Kuma, Secretary Sylia Arnell, Costume Manager Cali Halliday and fellow senior Prezley Hunt led the D’Ettes this year, who were coached by Kira Mortenson, Alisha Peters, Celesta Stephenson, Shay Morris and Halle Giacalone.

Also on the 2023-24 squad are juniors Jade Bangerter, Brielle Barkley, Breana Barnes, Ava Edwards, Addie Ehlers, Brooklyn Hanson, Brytinn Hill, Zoey Larsen, Hazel Ramsdell, Lani Vagai'a and Sally Whitaker; sophomores Ellie Carver, Eden Foster, Makae Hendrix, Mia Laws, Sydney McBride, Ellie Palmer, Ellison Parkinson, Payton Patane, Ella Randall, Frankie Scott, Hadlee Sims, Tessa Wilding and Brooklyn Wright; and freshmen Ainsley Ahlquist, Hailey Blanchard, Hadley Johnson, Amelia Monsen, Meg Neuenswander and Kenzlee Watson.